Завтра начинается Сегодня

Three thoughts about religion

In about me, ethics, moral issues, religion, socionics on May 19, 2009 at 08:20

I feel upset when somebody says that only people from his religion will be saved, the other will go to hell for ever. I always imagine a young girl from the “X” country who is kind and helpful but dies say at 15 without any chance to find out about the “Y” religion. That would be a complete waste of a human soul, and I think a human soul is the best thing in the Creation. If God is really kind he will find the ways of saving everybody.

Another thought came from my socionic forum where people were discussing how different types perceive God depending on their mind “operating system”. For some, He is an absolute Order, for others – emotional Love, the Law, an ultimate Force, ultimate Comfort, ultimate Mystery or sacrificial Love as a relationship to the Creation, etc. Its like that even among the people going to the same Church an individual would understand better one aspect of God, but not another.

And the third though is about what I call “religious uniform”. No, its great when people wear traditional clothes during Church services and ceremonies or if they are priests or monks. But it feels quite different when (I think) some people wear their outfits for the sake of being recognized in their everyday life. Here in Newtown there are many ladies and girls who always wear little symbolical scarves and skirts. I don’t know who they are. My kids used to be friends to some of the kids form these families and on few occasions they tried to invite their schoolmates to our home. The parents always objected. For me its just feels like they silently say “We are so pure. You will spoil our children”. These people always seems to talk to each other. And I wonder, if two people simultaneously ask for help, would they rather run to the one of their own kind? Is this “uniform” a tool to divide human beings and treat them differently? I am sorry if this attitude offend any of the readers but its just how it feels.

  1. I think that thinking that you are better because you are X religion and mark yourself with Y things is a sin in it self and a sin is a sin. There are not greater or lesser sins.

  2. It seems to me that philosophy "you go to hell forewer if you are different" can appear in two cases: 1) among large amount of people of the same religion who don't really know other people and tend to think they are just like beasts.2) if a group of people is opressed or offended by their neighbours – so they get feeling of revenge from this philosophy.If different people live peacefuly together I just can't imagine saying something like "Good morning, Mrs Smith" and thinking "you are giong to hell" at the same time. 🙂

Leave a comment