Завтра начинается Сегодня

My Shop Reserving Policy

In about me, art, crafts, Британия, ethics, legal issues, moral issues, my artworks, painting, portrait, relationship, shopping, textile art, traditions, xenophobia on February 2, 2013 at 10:41

Just letting out some steam….

Dear customers,

if you would like to reserve an item from the shop you’ll need to pay a non-refundable deposit of 10 pound a week. Please notice that if you express a wish to come on a particular day I can not guarantee that the shop will be open at that time.

Let me explain the reasons for all this. I am a novice shop keeper.  And a very surprised one. Often people come to the shop, look around and say to me: “I really like this painting” or “I want you to do commission for me. I definitely will be back tomorrow / on Friday / next week, etc.”

I am accustomed to trust people. On the day named I would come and wait till the Market is closed – even if most of other traders are already gone. Usually nobody shows up. Later I see these customers again and most of them say absolutely nothing to me.

On few occasions either I felt ill or cold, or someone from my family was poorly and I would rather be at home. I am not exaggerating.

It is not just me I am concerned about. Probably other small shops and stalls owners who really are struggling at the moment feel the same way. Is it my goods which are not good enough on careful consideration or is it my accent suggesting that I am not around here and could be treated less humanly?

Imagine if you are employed and on the day you expected to be paid your boss ignores you just like nothing happened? The income of small business owners depends on you. We live by hopes your give us.

It is perfectly fine to say “I will think about buying this”. Great!  Nobody needs false hopes, disappointments or later embarrassment.

Yours sincerely.

Leave a Reply

